FIFA Women’s World Cup™ Trophy Berths in Nigeria
By Ed Malik, A | |
posted March 23, 2023

Nigeria, the current African women’s football giant will welcome the original FIFA Women’s World Cup™ Trophy as the train makes its way to the Federal Capital, Abuja on Sunday.

The Trophy which has already left FIFA’s headquarters, travelling through several countries, will arrive in Nigeria on Saturday, March 25, 2023.

Nigeria is among the only seven countries to have consistently qualified and taken part in every edition of the competition since its beginning. The Trophy will make its way to all the 32 countries taking part in this year’s finals, with Nigeria being the ninth stop on the game-changing global tour.

Since world football’s governing body, FIFA, launched the women’s flagship tournament 32 years ago, only Nigeria, USA, Norway, Germany, Brazil, Japan and Sweden have played in every edition. All seven nations will again be on display at the ninth FIFA Women’s World Cup finals to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand from 20th July to 20th August this year.

The one-month championship Down Under will be the biggest in the history of the competition, as it welcomes 32 teams – the same number as featured in the men’s World Cup in Qatar late last year.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup was launched as a 12-team tournament in China in 1991 and stayed at that number for the championship in Sweden in 1995. It became a 16-nation tournament in the USA in 1999 and 2003 and was also the same number for China in 2007 and Germany in 2011. It became a 24-team tournament in Canada in 2015 and remained that way at the last competition in France in 2019.

Only four countries have won the glittering trophy: the USA, Germany, Norway and Japan. The USA has been victorious on four occasions and Germany has lifted it twice. Japan and Norway were champions once each.

Nigeria, South Africa, Morocco and Zambia will fly Africa’s flag in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand, with nine-time African champions Nigeria already slotted into Group B which will also feature co-hosts Australia, the Republic of Ireland and Canada.

The Super Falcons will play their first match at this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup against Canada at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium on Friday, 21 July 2023.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup Trophy will be on display at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja from 12 noon on Sunday, with a photo session planned for a number of invited guests.

Before the display, the FIFA team will pay a courtesy visit to the Honourable Minister of Youth and Sports, Chief Sunday Dare in his office at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium.

Note: More information regarding the FIFA Women’s World Cup Trophy Tour is available at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *