Principal House of Reps Officers, Others who won, Lost Elections

By Starrys Obazei | March 7, 2023

Some principal officers at the House of Representatives have lost their bid to return to the House of Reps, following the presidential and National Assembly elections held on Saturday, February 25.

Those who won include the Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila; Deputy Speaker, Ahmed Wase; Majority Leader, Alhassan Ado-Doguwa; Deputy Minority Leader, Peter Akpatason; and Majority Whip, Mohammed Monguno.

However, the Minority Leader, Ndudi Elumelu; Deputy Majority Leader, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha; and the Deputy Minority Whip, Abdulmajid Adekoya, lost at the polls.

Several members of the House also lost their reelection bid, with ‘freshers’ defeating the incumbent occupiers of the various legislative seats. This is just as new-comers lost their bids to become lawmakers.

In Kano State, Governor Abdullahi Ganduje’s son, Abba Ganduje, lost election for Tofa/Rimin Gado/ Dawakin Tofa Federal Constituency to Tijjani Jobe of the New Nigeria Peoples Party.

The Collation Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Saminu Yahaya announced the results at the INEC office in the Dawakin Tofa Local Government Area on Sunday.

According to Yahaya, Jobe, who is the incumbent occupier of the seat, polled 52,456 votes to beat Ganduje of the All Progressives Congress, who scored 44,809 votes.

Sani Bala of the APC was declared winner of Kunchi/Tsanyawa Federal Constituency in Kano with 25,000 votes, to beat Safiyanu Mohammed of the NNPP, who got 21,648 votes.

In the same vein, Adamu Sani of the NNPP was declared winner of the Minjibir/Ungogo Federal Constituency election after scoring 49,274 votes, to beat Marau Sani of the APC, who scored 16,629 votes.

In Plateau State, INEC declared incumbent Dachung Bagos of the PDP as the winner of the Jos-North/Bassa Federal Constituency election.

Bagos scored 95,637 votes to beat seven other candidates, including the APC candidate, Gideon Davou, a serving chairman of Jos-South LGA, who polled 27,235 votes.

In Ekiti State, APC candidates in the six federal constituencies defeated their opponents.

INEC’s Head of Voter Education and Publicity in Ekiti State Temitope Akanmu, said House of Representatives member, Olusola Fatoba, the APC candidate for Ado Ekiti/Ifelodun Irepodun Federal Constituency, had 39,182 votes to defeat six other candidates, including former Governor Ayodele Fayose’s son, Jomiloju, of the PDP, who polled 12,295.

Another incumbent House member, Femi Bamisile, of the APC, won the election in Emure/Gbonyin/Ekiti East Federal Constituency, having garnered 31,711 votes to defeat five others, the closest being Jennifer Emiola of PDP, who got 14,290 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *