Finally, Presidency Provides Details of Refunds to the Niger Delta

Paschal Emeka, Abuja

As discontent increased in various states of the Niger Delta over allegations that some government officials misused the oil derivation refunds in the region, the Presidency on Friday released more details of oil derivation refunds made to the states.

According to a statement by Garba Shehu, the presidential Spokesperson, Akwa Ibom, and Delta states received the most significant chunk of the refunds from the Federal Government.

Shehu revealed that the nine oil-producing states got a total of N625.43 billion comprising 13 percent oil derivation, subsidy, and SURE-P refunds from the Federation Account between 2021 and 2022.

He said the date of the refund was from 1999 to 2021.

Remember that Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State had showered praise on President Muhammadu Buhari for releasing the 13 percent oil derivation to the Niger Delta states.

Wike further said he spent the funds on multi-billion projects in his state, challenging his colleagues to explain how they used theirs.

Wike’s revelation, however, generated a lot of controversies as many Nigerians raised questions on how governors from the oil-producing states utilized the funds in their respective states.

Part of the statement by Shehu read: “According to the figures, under the 13 percent derivation fund on withdrawal from ECA without deducting derivation from 2004 to 2019, Abia State received N4.8 billion with an outstanding sum of N2.8 billion, Akwa-Ibom received N128 billion with an exceptional sum of N77 billion, Bayelsa with N92.2 billion, leaving an outstanding of N55 billion.

“Cross River got a refund of N1.3 billion with a balance of N792 million, Delta State received N110 billion, leaving a balance of N66.2 billion, Edo State received N11.3billion, with a balance of N6.8billion, Imo State, N5.5 billion, with an outstanding sum of N3.3 billion, Ondo State, N19.4 billion with an outstanding sum of N11.7bn while Rivers State was paid 103.6 billion, with an outstanding balance of N62.3 billion.”

The statement shows that states were further paid in eight installments between the months of October 2021 and January 2022.

“Under this category, Abia State received N1.1 billion; Akwa-Ibom, N15 billion; Bayelsa, N11.6 billion; Cross River, N432 million; Delta State, N14.8 billion; Edo State, N2.2 billion; Imo State, N2.9, billion; Ondo State, N3.7 billion, and Rivers State, N12.8 billion.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *